Susanna Galanis History & Glamour, Susanna Galanis Inspired by History Jewelry, Susanna Galanis Jewelry, YSL, Yves Saint Laurent quotes

Yves Saint Laurent – quotes

YSL

Yves Henri Donat Mathieu-Saint-Laurent, known as Yves Saint Laurent, (August 1, 1936 – June 1, 2008), was a French fashion designer, and is regarded as one of the greatest names in fashion history. In 1985, Caroline Rennolds Milbank wrote, “The most consistently celebrated and influential designer of the past twenty-five years, Yves Saint Laurent can be credited with both spurring the couture’s rise from its sixties ashes and with finally rendering  ready-to wear reputable.” He is also credited with having introduced the tuxedo suit for women and was known for his use of non-European cultural references, and non-White models.

Here are some of his famous quotes – still inspiring us:

Wesley_Ke_Getty_196_490

ysl2

Obit Yves Saint Laurent

yves-saint-laurent-001

02LAURENT.XLARGE4-001

yves-001

it

“We must never confuse elegance with snobbery.” -Yves Saint Laurent

“I participated in the transformation of my era. I did it with clothes, which is surely less important than music, architecture, painting … but whatever it’s worth I did it.” -Yves Saint Laurent

“I always believed that style was more important than fashion. They are rare, those who imposed their style while fashion makers are so numerous.” -Yves Saint Laurent

“The most beautiful clothes that can dress a woman are the arms of the man she loves. But for those who haven’t had the fortune of finding this happiness, I am there.” -Yves Saint Laurent

“I tried to show that fashion is an art. For that, I followed the counsel of my master Christian Dior and the imperishable lesson of Mademoiselle Chanel. I created for my era and I tried to foresee what tomorrow would be.” -Yves Saint Laurent

“A designer who is not also a couturier, who hasn’t learned the most refined mysteries of physically creating his models, is like a sculptor who gives his drawings to another man, an artisan, to accomplish.” -Yves Saint Laurent

“I want to thank all the women who have worn my clothes, the famous and the unknown, who have been so faithful to me and given me so much joy.” -Yves Saint Laurent

“I love bows, … And I feel some couture pots coming on.” -Yves Saint Laurent

“I have always believed that fashion was not only to make women more beautiful, but also to reassure them, give them confidence,” -Yves Saint Laurent

176074 Yves St Laurent helmut_newton_ysl christy-turlington-yves-saint-laurent-fall-2009 tumblr_l001r5EFnh1qav8fpo1_1280 ysl41YSL-Northern-Lights-Makeup-Collection-for-Christmas-2012-model yves-saint-laurent_5 yves saint laurent 1985 gucci ss 2011 Yves-Saint-Laurent_Cigarettes yves-saint-laurent-by-michel-comte Yves_Saint_Laurent_Beverly_Hills

Standard

Leave a Reply

